ABTL - Association of Business Trial Lawyers

 

Northern California

Officers

Thomas B. Mayhew

President
Thomas B. Mayhew
Farella Braun + Martel LLP
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
415.954.4948 (Direct)
tmayhew@fbm.com

Cirelli

Vice President
Lawrence M. Cirelli
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 995-5003
lcirelli@hansonbridgett.com

Bergeson

Treasurer
Daniel J. Bergeson
Bergeson LLP
303 Almaden Blvd. Suite 500
San Jose, CA  95110-2712
(408) 291-6200 (Main)
(408) 291-6205 (Direct)
dbergeson@be-law.com

Bruce A. Ericson

Secretary
Bruce A. Ericson
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Four Embarcadero Center, 22nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-5998
415-983-1560
bruce.ericson@pillsburylaw.com

Diane M. Doolittle

Immediate Past President
Diane M. Doolittle
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart Oliver
& Hedges, LLP
555 Twin Dolphin Drive, 5th Floor
Redwood Shores, CA 94065
(650) 801-5007 (Direct)
(650) 801-5000 (Main)
dianedoolittle@quinnemanuel.com

Michele Bowen

Executive Director
Michèle Silva
115 Northwood Commons
Livermore, CA 94551
(925) 447-7900

Board of Governors

Daniel B. Asimow

Membership Co-Chair
Daniel B. Asimow

Arnold & Porter LLP
Three Embarcadero Center, 7th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4024
(415) 471-3142 Daniel.Asimow@aporter.com

Bea

Honorable Carlos Bea
United States Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

Bernstein

William Bernstein
Lieff, Cabraser, Heimann & Bernstein LLP
Embarcadero Center West
275 Battery Street, 29th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111-3339
(415) 956-1000
wbernstein@lchb.com

Rachel Brass

Annual Seminar Representative
Rachel S. Brass

Gibson Dunn
555 Mission Street, Suite 3000
San Francisco, CA  94105-0921
(415) 393-8293
rbrass@gibsondunn.com

Brick

Honorable Steven Brick (Ret.)
JAMS
Formerly Superior Court of California County of Alameda

Walter Brown

Annual Seminar Representative
Walter F. Brown, Jr.

Orrick
The Orrick Building
405 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105-2669
(415) 773-5995
WBrown@Orrick.com

Buchwald

Honorable Gerald J. Buchwald
Superior Court of California
County of San Mateo

Chanin

Jeffrey R. Chanin
Keker & Van Nest LLP
710 Sansome Street
San Francisco, CA  94111-1704
(415) 676-2272 (direct)
jchanin@kvn.com

Cialone

Frank A. Cialone
Shartsis Friese LLP
One Maritime Plaza, 18th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 421-6500 (Main)
fcialone@sflaw.com

Rodger Cole

Rodger R. Cole
Fenwick & West LLP
555 California Street, 12th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94104
(650) 335-7603
rcole@fenwick.com

Honorable Carol A. Corrigan

Honorable Carol A. Corrigan
California Supreme Court

Marcie Keenan Farano

Marcie Keenan Farano
California Department of Justice
Office of the Attorney General
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Ste. 11000
San Francisco, CA 94102-7004
(415) 703-5513
Marcie.Farano@doj.ca.gov

Derek F. Foran

Derek F. Foran
Morrison & Foerster
425 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 268-6323
dforan@mofo.com

Honorable Robert B. Freedman

Honorable Robert B. Freedman
Superior Court of California
County of Alameda

Honorable Beth L. Freeman

Honorable Beth L. Freeman
United States District Court 
Northern District of California

Honorable Haywood Gilliam

Honorable Haywood Gilliam
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Jennifer Golinveaux

Jennifer Golinveaux
Winston & Strawn
101 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5840
(415) 591-1506
JGolinveaux@winston.com

Honorable Yvonne Gonzalez Rogers

Honorable Yvonne Gonzalez Rogers
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Barry Goode

Honorable Barry Goode
Alameda County Superior Court

Michael C. Hendershot

Michael C. Hendershot
Paul Hastings LLP
1117 S. California Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94304
(650) 320-1819
michaelhendershot@paulhastings.com

Honorable Susan Y. Illston

Honorable Susan Y. Illston
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Teri L. Jackson

Honorable Teri L. Jackson
Superior Court of California
City and County of San Francisco

Honorable Curtis Karnow

Honorable Curtis Karnow
San Francisco County Superior Court

David Kiernan

David Kiernan
Jones Day
555 California Street  26th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94104
(415) 875-5828 (Sandra Saltamirano)
dkiernan@JonesDay.com

Honorable Sallie Kim

Honorable Sallie Kim
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Peter Kirwan

Honorable Peter Kirwan
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Honorable James P. Kleinberg

Honorable James P. Kleinberg (Ret.)
JAMS   
Formerly Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Honorable Lucy Koh

Honorable Lucy Koh
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Richard A. Kramer

Honorable Richard A. Kramer (Ret.)
JAMS

Molly Moriarty Lane

Membership Co-Chair
Molly Moriarty Lane

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
One Market Plaza
Spear Street Tower
San Francisco, CA  94105
(415) 442-1000
mlane@morganlewis.com

Honorable Elizabeth D. Laporte

Honorable Elizabeth D. Laporte
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Patricia M. Lucas

Honorable Patricia M. Lucas
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Hon. Socrates (Pete) Manoukian

Hon. Socrates (Pete) Manoukian
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Anna S. McLean

Anna S. McLean
Sheppard Mullin
Four Embarcadero Center
Seventeenth Floor 
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 774.3154 
amclean@sheppardmullin.com

Anna S. McLean

Pro bono Chair
Beatriz Mejia

Cooley LLP
101 California Street, 5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-5800
(415) 693-2145
mejiab@cooley.com

Mark C. Molumphy

Mark C. Molumphy
Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy
San Francisco Airport Office Center
840 Malcolm Road, Suite 200
Burlingame, CA  94010-1413
(650) 697-6000
mmolumphy@cpmlegal.com

Tim L. O’Mara

Tim L. O’Mara
Latham & Watkins
505 Montgomery Street #2000
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 395-8227
tim.omara@lw.com

Evette Pennypacker

Evette Pennypacker
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart Oliver & Hedges, LLP
555 Twin Dolphin Drive, 5th Floor
Redwood Shores, CA 94065
650.801.5025
(650) 801-5000 (Main)
evettepennypacker@quinnemanuel.com

Michael K. Plimack

Michael K. Plimack
Covington & Burling LLP
One Front Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5356
(415) 591-6000 (Main)
(415) 591-7002 (Direct)
mplimack@cov.com

Benjamin K. Riley

Benjamin K. Riley
Bartko Zankel Bunzel & Miller
One Embarcadero Center, Suite 800
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 956-1900 (Main)
(415) 291-4507 (Direct)
briley@bzbm.com

John S. Siamas

Honorable Richard G. Seeborg
U.S. District Court
Northern District of California

John S. Siamas

John S. Siamas
Reed Smith LLP
101 Second Street
San Francisco, CA  94105
(415) 659-5921
jsiamas@reedsmith.com

Honorable Mark B. Simons

Honorable Mark B. Simons
California Court of Appeal
First Appellate District

Honorable Winifred Smith

Honorable Winifred Smith
Alameda County Superior Court

David S. Steuer

David S. Steuer
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
650 Page Mill Road
Palo Alto, CA  94304-9300
(650) 493-9300
dsteuer@wsgr.com

Stephen Sutro

Programs Chair
Stephen H. Sutro

Duane Morris LLP
Spear Tower
One Market Plaza, Suite 2200
San Francisco, CA 94105-1127
(415) 957-3008
SHSutro@duanemorris.com

Ragesh Tangri

ABTL Report editor
Ragesh K. Tangri

Durie Tangri LLP
217 Leidesdorff Street
San Francisco, CA  94111
Tel:  (415) 362-6666
RTangri@durietangri.com

Alison Tucher

Honorable Alison Tucher
Superior Court of California
County of Alameda

Christine Van Aken

Christine Van Aken
Office of the City Attorney
City and County of San Francisco
City Hall Room 234
One Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Pl.
San Francisco, CA  94102
(415) 554-4633
christine.van.aken@sfgov.org

Marshall C. Wallace

Marshall C. Wallace
Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP
Three Embarcadero Center  12th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4074
(415) 273-7457 (Direct)
mwallace@allenmatkins.com

Christopher Wanger

Christopher Wanger
Manatt Phelps & Phillips LLP
One Embarcadero Center 30th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 291-7400 (Main)
CWanger@manatt.com

Honorable Mary Wiss

Honorable Mary Wiss
San Francisco County Superior Court

Honorable Theodore Zayner

Honorable Theodore Zayner
Santa Clara County Superior Court


Leadership Development Committee (LDC)

Chandra Russell

Y.L.D. Chair
Chandra Russell

Farella Braun + Martel
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
CRussell@fbm.com

Corina I. Cacovean

Corina I. Cacovean
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
One Market Plaza
Spear Tower, Suite 3300
San Francisco, CA 94105-1126
ccacovean@wsgr.com

Ginamarie Caya

Ginamarie Caya
Arnold & Porter
Three Embarcadero Center, 7th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4024
Ginamarie.Caya@aporter.com

Joshua D. Dick

Joshua D. Dick
Gibson Dunn
555 Mission Street, Suite 3000
San Francisco, CA  94105-0921
JDick@gibsondunn.com

Kevin P. Dwight

Kevin P. Dwight
Manatt | Phelps | Phillips
One Embarcadero Center 30th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
kdwight@manatt.com

Simon R. Goodfellow

Simon R. Goodfellow
Bartko, Zankel, Tarrant & Miller, APC
900 Front Street, Suite 300
San Francisco, CA 94111-1413
sgoodfellow@bztm.com

Ana Guardado

Ana Guardado
Duane Morris
One Market, Spear Tower, Suite 2200
San Francisco,  CA 94105-1127
AGuardado@duanemorris.com

Lyndsey Heaton

Lyndsey Heaton
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
One Market Plaza
Spear Street Tower
San Francisco, CA  94105
lheaton@morganlewis.com

Rebecca Jacobs

Rebecca Jacobs
Covington & Burling LLP
One Front Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5356
rjacobs@cov.com

Kamran Javandel

Kamran Javandel
Allen Matkins
Three Embarcadero Center  12th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4074
kjavandel@allenmatkins.com

Danielle Kennedy

Danielle Kennedy
Sheppard Mullin
Four Embarcadero Center
Seventeenth Floor 
San Francisco, CA 94111
DKennedy@sheppardmullin.com

Dara R. Levinson

Dara R. Levinson
Jones Day
555 California Street  26th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94104
daralevinson@jonesday.com

Laura Miller

Laura Miller
Durie Tangri
217 Leidesdorff Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
lmiller@durietangri.com

Kenneth Nabity

Kenneth Nabity
Kerr & Wagstaffe
101 Mission St., 18th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
nabity@kerrwagstaffe.com

Geoffrey R. Pittman

Geoffrey R. Pittman
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
gpittman@hansonbridgett.com

Brian M. Schnarr

Brian M. Schnarr
Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy, LLP
San Francisco Airport Office Center
840 Malcolm Road, Suite 200
Burlingame, CA  94010-1413
bschnarr@cpmlegal.com

Ashley L. Shively

Ashley L. Shively
Reed Smith
101 Second Street
San Francisco, CA  94105
AShively@ReedSmith.com

Blaire Stokes

Blaire Stokes
Nixon Peabody
One Embarcadero Center, Suite 1800
San Francisco, CA  94111
bstokes@nixonpeabody.com

Max Twine

Max Twine
Taylor & Company Law Offices
One Ferry Building Suite 355
San Francisco, CA 94111
mbt@tcolaw.com

Sean Wikner

Sean Wikner
Fenwick & West LLP
555 California Street, 12th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94104
swikner@fenwick.com

Past Presidents

Arthur J. Shartsis

Arthur J. Shartsis
Shartsis Friese LLP 
One Maritime Plaza,  18th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
ashartsis@sflaw.com
(415) 421-6500 x220

Jerome B. Falk, Jr.

Jerome B. Falk, Jr.
Howard Rice Nemerovski Canady Falk & Rabkin LLP
Three Embarcadero Center, 7th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111-4065 
jfalk@howardrice.com
(415)434-1600

Stephen V. Bomse

Stephen V. Bomse
Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
The Orrick Building
405 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
sbomse@orrick.com
(415) 773-4145

Steven M. Schatz

Steven M. Schatz
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich Rosati LLP
650 Page Mill Road
Palo Alto, CA 94304-9300
sschatz@wsgr.com
(415) 493-9300

Harold J. McElhinny

Harold J. McElhinny
Morrison & Foerster LLP
425 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
hmcelhinny@mofo.com
(415) 268-7265

Barbara A. Caulfield

Barbara A. Caulfield
(1947 - 2010)

Hon. Steven A. Brick

Hon. Steven A. Brick
Superior Court of California
County of Alameda Dept. 17

Douglas R. Young

Douglas R. Young
Farella, Braun & Martel LLP
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
dyoung@fbm.com
(415) 954-4438 

Stephen E. Taylor

Stephen E. Taylor
Taylor & Company Law Offices LLP
One Ferry Building Suite 355
San Francisco, CA 94111
staylor@tcolaw.com
(415) 788-8208

Robert D. Fram

Robert D. Fram
Covington & Burling LLP
One Front Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5356
rfram@cov.com
(415) 591-6000

John J. Bartko

John J. Bartko
Bartko Zankel Tarrant Miller LLP
900 Front Street, Suite 300
San Francisco, CA 94111-1413
jbartko@bztm.com
(415) 956-1900

Robert A. Goodin

Robert A. Goodin
Goodin, MacBride, Squeri, Day &
Lamprey LLP
505 Sansome Street
Suite 900
San Francisco, CA 94111
rgoodin@goodinmacbride.com
(415) 392-7900

Jon B. Streeter

Jon B. Streeter
Keker & Van Nest LLP
710 Sansome Street
San Francisco, CA  94111-1704
jstreeter@kvn.com
(415) 391-5400

Claude Stern

Claude Stern
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP
555 Twin Dolphin Dr., 5th Floor
Redwood Shores, California 94065
claudestern@quinnemanuel.com
(650) 801-5000

Benjamin K. Riley

Benjamin K. Riley
Bartko Zankel Bunzel & Miller
One Embarcadero Center, Suite 800
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 956-1900 (Main)
(415) 291-4507 (Direct)
briley@bzbm.com

Steven R. Lowenthal

Steven R. Lowenthal
Farella, Braun + Martel LLP
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
slowenthal@fbm.com
(415) 954-4405

Stephen D. Hibbard

Stephen D. Hibbard
Shearman & Sterling LLP 525 Market Street, 15th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
shibbard@shearman.com
(415) 616-1172

Sarah G. Flanagan

Sarah G. Flanagan
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Four Embarcadero Center, 22nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-5998
sarah.flanagan@pillsburylaw.com
(415) 983-1190 (Direct)

Robert H. Bunzel

Robert H. Bunzel
Bartko Zankel Bunzel & Miller
One Embarcadero Center, Suite 800
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 956-1900 (Main)
(415) 291-4529 (Direct)
rbunzel@bzbm.com

Mary Jo Shartsis

Mary Jo Shartsis
Shartsis Friese LLP
One Maritime Plaza, 18th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 421-6500 (Main)
mshartsis@sflaw.com

Rick Seabolt

Rick Seabolt 
Duane Morris LLP
One Market, Spear Tower, Suite 2200
San Francisco,  CA 94105-1127
(415) 957-3212 (Direct)
(415) 957-3000 (Main)
RLSeabolt@DuaneMorris.com

Daralyn J. Durie

Daralyn J. Durie
Durie Tangri LLP
217 Leidesdorff Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 362-6666
DDurie@durietangri.com

Andrew A. Bassak

Andrew A. Bassak
Manatt Phelps & Phillips LLP
One Embarcadero Center 30th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 291-7449 (Direct)
(415) 291-7400 (Main)
ABassak@manatt.com

Diane M. Doolittle

Diane M. Doolittle
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart Oliver
& Hedges, LLP
555 Twin Dolphin Drive, 5th Floor
Redwood Shores, CA 94065
(650) 801-5007 (Direct)
(650) 801-5000 (Main)
dianedoolittle@quinnemanuel.com