ABTL - Association of Business Trial Lawyers

 

Northern California

Officers

Bergeson

President
Daniel J. Bergeson
Bergeson LLP
111 N. Market Street, Suite 600
San Jose, CA 95113
(408) 291-6200 (Main)
(408) 291-6205 (Direct)
dbergeson@be-law.com

Bruce A. Ericson

Vice President
Bruce A. Ericson
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Four Embarcadero Center, 22nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-5998
415-983-1560
bruce.ericson@pillsburylaw.com

Rachel Brass

TreasureR 
Rachel S. Brass
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
555 Mission Street, Suite 3000
San Francisco, CA  94105-0921
(415) 393-8293
rbrass@gibsondunn.com

Molly Moriarty Lane

Secretary
Molly Moriarty Lane

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
One Market Plaza
Spear Street Tower
San Francisco, CA  94105
(415) 442-1000 (Main)
(415) 442-1333 (Direct)
mlane@morganlewis.com

Cirelli

Immediate Past President
Lawrence M. Cirelli
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 995-5003
lcirelli@hansonbridgett.com

Michele Bowen

EVent Planner
Michèle Silva
ABTL
663 S. Rancho Santa Fe Rd.  #637
San Marcos, CA 92078 
(925) 447-7900

 

Board of Governors

Carly O. Alameda

Carly O. Alameda
Farella Braun + Martel LLP
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA  94104
415.954.4981
calameda@fbm.com

Daniel B. Asimow

Membership Co-Chair
Daniel B. Asimow

Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Three Embarcadero Center, 10th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4024
(415) 471-3142
Daniel.Asimow@arnoldporter.com

Andrew A. Bassak

Andrew A. Bassak
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 995-5006
ABassak@hansonbridgett.com

Walter Brown

Program Co-Chair
Walter F. Brown, Jr.

Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
The Orrick Building
405 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105-2669
(415) 773-5995
WBrown@Orrick.com

Buchwald

Honorable Gerald J. Buchwald
Superior Court of California
County of San Mateo

Margret Caruso

Margret Caruso
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP
555 Twin Dolphin Drive 5th Floor
Redwood Shores, CA  94065
650-801-5101
margretcaruso@quinnemanuel.com

Honorable Carol A. Corrigan

Honorable Carol A. Corrigan
California Supreme Court

Kevin P. Dwight
Manatt Phelps & Phillips, LLP
One Embarcadero Center, 30th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 291.7464
kdwight@manatt.com

Eric B. Fastiff

Eric B. Fastiff
Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein LLP
Embarcadero Center West
275 Battery Street, 29th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111-3339
(415) 956-1000
efastiff@lchb.com

Derek F. Foran

Derek F. Foran
Morrison & Foerster
425 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 268-6323
dforan@mofo.com

Batya Forsyth
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street  26th. Floor
San Francisco, CA  94105
(415) 995-5827
bforsyth@hansonbridgett.com

Hon. Stephen P. Frecerro
Superior Court of California
Marin County

Honorable Robert B. Freedman

Hon. Robert B. Freedman (Ret.)
JAMS
Formerly Superior Court of California, County of Alameda

Honorable Beth L. Freeman

Honorable Beth L. Freeman
United States District Court 
Northern District of California

Honorable Haywood Gilliam

Honorable Haywood Gilliam
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Jennifer Golinveaux

Jennifer Golinveaux
Winston & Strawn
101 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5840
(415) 591-1506
JGolinveaux@winston.com

Honorable Yvonne Gonzalez Rogers

Honorable Yvonne Gonzalez Rogers
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Thomas Hixson

Honorable Thomas Hixson
United States District Court for
The Northern District of California

Honorable Susan Y. Illston

Honorable Susan Y. Illston
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Teri L. Jackson

Honorable Teri L. Jackson
Superior Court of California
City and County of San Francisco

Jill Jaffe
Nossaman LLP
50 California Street, 34th Floor 
San Francisco, CA 94111 
(415) 438.7275
jjaffe@nossaman.com

No Photo

Emily C. Kalanithi
California Department of Justice
Office of the Attorney General
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Ste. 11000
San Francisco, CA 94102-7004
(415) 703-5513
Emily.Kalanithi@doj.ca.gov

David Kiernan

David Kiernan
Jones Day
555 California Street  26th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94104
(415) 875-5828 (Sandra Saltamirano)
dkiernan@JonesDay.com

Honorable Sallie Kim

Honorable Sallie Kim
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Peter Kirwan

Honorable Peter Kirwan
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Honorable James P. Kleinberg

Honorable James P. Kleinberg (Ret.)
JAMS   
Formerly Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Honorable Lucy Koh

Honorable Lucy Koh
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Richard A. Kramer

Honorable Richard A. Kramer (Ret.)
JAMS

Ajay Sundar Krishnan

Ajay Sundar Krishnan
Keker, Van Nest & Peters LLP
633 Battery Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
akrishnan@keker.com
(415) 391-5400

Honorable Elizabeth D. Laporte

Honorable Elizabeth D. Laporte
United States District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Patricia M. Lucas

Honorable Patricia M. Lucas
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Hon. Socrates (Pete) Manoukian

Honorable Socrates (Pete) Manoukian
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

No Photo

Honorable Michael M. Markman
Superior Court of California
County of Alameda

Anne-Christine Massullo

Honorable Anne-Christine Massullo
Superior Court of California
City and County of San Francisco

Anna S. McLean

Annual Seminar Co-Chair
Anna S. McLean

Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP
Four Embarcadero Center
Seventeenth Floor 
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 774.3154 
amclean@sheppardmullin.com

Larisa A. Meisenheimer

Larisa A. Meisenheimer
Shartsis Friese LLP
One Maritime Plaza, 18th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 421-6500 (Main)
lmeisenheimer@sflaw.com

Anna S. McLean

Annual Seminar Co-Chair
Beatriz Mejia

Cooley LLP
101 California Street, 5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-5800
(415) 693-2145
mejiab@cooley.com

Mark C. Molumphy

Mark C. Molumphy
Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy LLP
San Francisco Airport Office Center
840 Malcolm Road, Suite 200
Burlingame, CA  94010-1413
(650) 697-6000
mmolumphy@cpmlegal.com

John J. Powers 

John J. Powers 
Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Four Embarcadero Center, 27th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 591-7565
john.powers@dbr.com

Jonathan Patchen

Jonathan Patchen
Taylor & Patchen LLP
1 Ferry Building, Suite #355,
San Francisco, CA 94111-4226
(415) 788-8200
jpatchen@taylorpatchen.com 

Evette Pennypacker

Honorable Evette D. Pennypacker
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

Honorable Ioana Petrou

Honorable Ioana Petrou
California Court of Appeal
First Appellate District

Michael K. Plimack

PROGRAM CO-CHAIR
Michael K. Plimack

Covington & Burling LLP
One Front Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5356
(415) 591-6000 (Main)
(415) 591-7002 (Direct)
mplimack@cov.com

John S. Siamas

Honorable Richard G. Seeborg
U.S. District Court
Northern District of California

Honorable Mark B. Simons

Honorable Mark B. Simons
California Court of Appeal
First Appellate District

Honorable Winifred Smith

Honorable Winifred Smith
Alameda County Superior Court

Stephen C. Steinberg

COMMUNITY OUTREACH CO-CHAIR
Stephen C. Steinberg

Bartko Zankel Bunzel Miller LLP
One Embarcadero Center · Suite 800
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 291-4523
ssteinberg@bztm.com

Christopher J. Steskal

ABTL REPORT CO-EDITOR
Christopher J. Steskal
Fenwick & West LLP
801 California Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
csteskal@fenwick.com
415.875.2439

David S. Steuer

David S. Steuer
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati LLP
650 Page Mill Road
Palo Alto, CA  94304-9300
(650) 493-9300
dsteuer@wsgr.com

Stephen Sutro

Membership co-Chair
Stephen H. Sutro

Duane Morris LLP
Spear Tower
One Market Plaza, Suite 2200
San Francisco, CA 94105-1127
(415) 957-3008
SHSutro@duanemorris.com

No Photo

Quyen L. Ta
Boies Schiller Flexner LLP
435 Tasso Street  Suite 205
Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 798 3506
qta@bsfllp.com

Ragesh Tangri

ABTL Report editor
Ragesh K. Tangri

Durie Tangri LLP
217 Leidesdorff Street
San Francisco, CA  94111
Tel:  (415) 362-6666
RTangri@durietangri.com

Alison Tucher

Honorable Alison M. Tucher
California Court of Appeal
First Appellate District

Sean D. Unger
Paul Hastings LLP
101 California Street, Forty-Eighth Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 856-7056
seanunger@paulhastings.com

Nicole C. Valco

community outreach co-chair
Nicole C. Valco

Latham & Watkins LLP
505 Montgomery Street, Suite 2000
San Francisco, CA 94111-6538
(415) 646-7875
nicole.valco@lw.com

Christine Van Aken

Programs 
Honorable Christine Van Aken
Superior Court of California
County of San Francisco

Marshall C. Wallace

Marshall C. Wallace
Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP
Three Embarcadero Center  12th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4074
(415) 273-7457 (Direct)
mwallace@allenmatkins.com

Honorable Brian Walsh

ABTL REPORT Co-EDITOR
Honorable Brian C. Walsh

Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County
bwalsh@scscourt.org

Honorable Marie S. Weiner
Superior Court of California
San Mateo County

Sonja Weissman

Sonja Weissman
Reed Smith LLP
101 Second Street, Suite 1800
San Francisco, CA  94105
(415) 659-4874
sweissman@reedsmith.com

Lloyd Winawer

Lloyd Winawer
Goodwin Procter LLP
601 Marshall Street
Redwood City, CA 94063
(650) 752-3146
lwinawer@goodwinlaw.com

Honorable Mary Wiss

Honorable Mary E. Wiss
Superior Court of California
San Francisco County

Honorable Theodore Zayner

Honorable Theodore C. Zayner
Superior Court of California
Santa Clara County

 

Leadership Development Committee (LDC)

Leadership Development Committee (LDC) Chair
Adam Trigg

Bergeson LLP
111 N. Market Street  Suite 600
San Jose, CA 95113
408-291-6205
atrigg@be-law.com

Chandra Andrade
Farella Braun + Martel LLP
Russ Building 
235 Montgomery Street 
San Francisco, CA 94104 
candrade@fbm.com

Stephanie Biehl
Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy, LLP
San Francisco Airport Office Center
840 Malcolm Road, Suite 200
Burlingame, CA  94010-1413
SBiehl@cpmlegal.com

Avery Brown
Fenwick & West LLP
555 California Street, 12th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94104
avery.brown@fenwick.com

Corina I. Cacovean

Corina I. Cacovean
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
One Market Plaza
Spear Tower, Suite 3300
San Francisco, CA 94105-1126
ccacovean@wsgr.com

Lauren Case
Duane Morris
One Market, Spear Tower, Suite 2200
San Francisco,  CA 94105-1127
LMCase@duanemorris.com

Karan Dhadialla
Taylor & Patchen
One Ferry Building Suite 355
San Francisco, CA 94111
kdhadialla@taylorpatchen.com

Alyse (Ali) Gramaglia
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
One Market Plaza
Spear Street Tower
San Francisco, CA  94105
ali.gramaglia@morganlewis.com

Ana Guardado

Ana Guardado
Manatt | Phelps | Phillips
One Embarcadero Center 30th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
AGuardado@manatt.com

Laura Hertado
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw & Pittman LLP
Four Embarcadero Center, 22nd Floor 
San Francisco, CA 94111-5998
Laura.Hertado@pillsburylaw.com

Rebecca Jacobs

Rebecca Jacobs
Covington & Burling LLP
One Front Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5356
rjacobs@cov.com

Kamran Javandel

Kamran Javandel
Allen Matkins
Three Embarcadero Center  12th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-4074
kjavandel@allenmatkins.com

Priyah Kaul
Gibson Dunn
555 Mission Street, Suite 3000
San Francisco, CA  94105-0921
PKaul@gibsondunn.com

Sean McTigue
Bartko, Zankel, Tarrant & Miller, APC
900 Front Street, Suite 300
San Francisco, CA 94111-1413
smctigue@BZBM.com

Kenneth Nabity

Kenneth Nabity
Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass LLP
One Montgomery Street, Suite 3000
San Francisco CA, 94104
415-772-5732 | Office 415-391-4800
knabity@coblentzlaw.com

Matthew J. Peck
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94105
Tel:  415-995-5080
mpeck@hansonbridgett.com

Andrew Perito
Durie Tangri
217 Leidesdorff Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
aperito@durietangri.com

Kapri Saunders
Jones Day
555 California Street  26th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94104
ksaunders@jonesday.com

Ashley L. Shively

Ashley L. Shively
Reed Smith
101 Second Street
San Francisco, CA  94105
AShively@ReedSmith.com

Joy Siu
Sheppard Mullin
Four Embarcadero Center
Seventeenth Floor 
San Francisco, CA 94111
jsiu@sheppardmullin.com

Blaire Stokes

Blaire Stokes
Nixon Peabody
One Embarcadero Center, Suite 1800
San Francisco, CA  94111
bstokes@nixonpeabody.com

Dan Veroff
Kerr & Wagstaffe LLP
101 Mission St.
18th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
veroff@kerrwagstaffe.com

Past Presidents

Arthur J. Shartsis

Arthur J. Shartsis
Shartsis Friese LLP 
One Maritime Plaza,  18th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
ashartsis@sflaw.com
(415) 421-6500 x220

Jerome B. Falk, Jr.

Jerome B. Falk, Jr.
Retired

Stephen V. Bomse

Stephen V. Bomse
Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
The Orrick Building
405 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
sbomse@orrick.com
(415) 773-4145

Steven M. Schatz

Steven M. Schatz
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich Rosati LLP
650 Page Mill Road
Palo Alto, CA 94304-9300
sschatz@wsgr.com
(415) 493-9300

Harold J. McElhinny

Harold J. McElhinny
Morrison & Foerster LLP
425 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
hmcelhinny@mofo.com
(415) 268-7265

Barbara A. Caulfield

Barbara A. Caulfield
(1947 - 2010)

Hon. Steven A. Brick

Hon. Steven A. Brick
(1947 -2017)

Douglas R. Young

Douglas R. Young
Farella, Braun & Martel LLP
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
dyoung@fbm.com
(415) 954-4438 

Stephen E. Taylor

Stephen E. Taylor
Taylor & Company Law Offices LLP
One Ferry Building Suite 355
San Francisco, CA 94111
staylor@tcolaw.com
(415) 788-8208

Robert D. Fram

Robert D. Fram
Covington & Burling LLP
One Front Street
San Francisco, CA 94111-5356
rfram@cov.com
(415) 591-6000

John J. Bartko

John J. Bartko
Bartko Zankel Bunzel Miller LLP 
900 Front Street, Suite 300
San Francisco, CA 94111-1413
jbartko@bzbm.com
(415) 956-1900

Robert A. Goodin

Robert A. Goodin
Goodin, MacBride, Squeri, Day &
Lamprey LLP
505 Sansome Street
Suite 900
San Francisco, CA 94111
rgoodin@goodinmacbride.com
(415) 392-7900

Jon B. Streeter

Hon. Jon B. Streeter
California Court of Appeal
First Appellate District

Claude Stern

Claude M. Stern
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP
555 Twin Dolphin Dr., 5th Floor
Redwood Shores, California 94065
claudestern@quinnemanuel.com
(650) 801-5000

Benjamin K. Riley

Benjamin K. Riley
Bartko Zankel Bunzel & Miller
One Embarcadero Center, Suite 800
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 956-1900 (Main)
(415) 291-4507 (Direct)
briley@bzbm.com

Steven R. Lowenthal

Steven R. Lowenthal
Farella, Braun + Martel LLP
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
slowenthal@fbm.com
(415) 954-4405

Stephen D. Hibbard

Stephen D. Hibbard
Jones Day
555 California Street  26th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94104
sdhibbard@jonesday.com
(415) 626-3939

Sarah G. Flanagan

Sarah G. Flanagan
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Four Embarcadero Center, 22nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111-5998
sarah.flanagan@pillsburylaw.com
(415) 983-1190 (Direct)

Robert H. Bunzel

Robert H. Bunzel
Bartko Zankel Bunzel & Miller
One Embarcadero Center, Suite 800
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 956-1900 (Main)
(415) 291-4529 (Direct)
rbunzel@bzbm.com

Mary Jo Shartsis

Mary Jo Shartsis
Shartsis Friese LLP
One Maritime Plaza, 18th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 421-6500 (Main)
mshartsis@sflaw.com

Rick Seabolt

Honorable Rick L. Seabolt 
Superior Court of California
Alameda County

Daralyn J. Durie

Daralyn J. Durie
Durie Tangri LLP
217 Leidesdorff Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 362-6666
DDurie@durietangri.com

Andrew A. Bassak

Andrew A. Bassak
Manatt Phelps & Phillips LLP
One Embarcadero Center 30th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94111
(415) 291-7449 (Direct)
(415) 291-7400 (Main)
ABassak@manatt.com

Diane M. Doolittle

Diane M. Doolittle
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart Oliver
& Hedges, LLP
555 Twin Dolphin Drive, 5th Floor
Redwood Shores, CA 94065
(650) 801-5007 (Direct)
(650) 801-5000 (Main)
dianedoolittle@quinnemanuel.com

Thomas B. Mayhew

Thomas B. Mayhew
Farella Braun + Martel LLP
Russ Building
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
415.954.4948 (Direct)
tmayhew@fbm.com

Cirelli

Lawrence M. Cirelli
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 995-5003
lcirelli@hansonbridgett.com